30 Hour Child Care Basics Module 8

3 Hours
The class is also available as part of the below Knowledge Collections

The 30 hour child care basics course is required by the Department of Children, Youth and Families for all new licensees in Washington State. This is the eighth module in the 10 module series.

This mobile-friendly course is accessible on any device, including tablets and phones.

Free Preview

Washington State Department of Children, Youth, and Families

Child Care Basics

Module 8 - Healthy Practice (Part II)

Licensed providers can get reimbursed up to $250 per year from MERIT for all approved STARS classes you complete, on a first-come, first-serve basis. To learn about how to apply for reimbursement through your MERIT record, visit the DCYF website and scroll down to “Training Reimbursement” near the bottom of the page.

Presented by



Approved or Accepted in:
Learning Outcomes

After completing this module, students will know:

  • Hand-washing, diapering, food-handling and meal/snack procedures
  • Basic daily nutrition, exercise, and sleep needs of children
  • Signs of and care for basic childhood illnesses and injuries
  • How to prepare for emergencies