You’ve probably heard the term continuing education units, or CEUs, and wondered “what are those and do I need them?”  Although this term is used frequently, not all continuing education units are the same.  The term is used by many organizations for their continuing education or professional training hours, which are not the same as IACET CEUs. Read on to learn more.


What is IACET?

The International Association for Continued Education and Training’s (IACET) mission is to advance the global workforce by providing the standard framework for quality learning and development through accreditation.

IACET was instrumental in developing the original Continuing Education Unit (CEU) and creating the ANSI/IACET Standard for Continuing Education and Training.  In other words, they set the bar for high-quality education and training programs


What is a CEU credit?

The Continuing Education Unit or CEU was created and defined in 1970 by IACET and a U.S. Department of Education task force. The continuing education unit (CEU) was designed to:

  • Provide a standard unit of measurement for continuing education and training,
  • Quantify continuing education and training activities, and
  • Accommodate for the diversity of providers, activities, and purposes in adult education.

In 1998, the "IACET CEU" designation was born as part of the Accredited Provider Program (established in 1991). The IACET CEU ensures that a Standard of learning is in place. Only Accredited Providers, or APs, who have been approved by the IACET Commission are allowed to award IACET CEUs.

As the caretaker of the CEU, IACET maintains and refines the Continuing Education Unit. The association educates organizations, trainers, teachers and learners through our programs, publications, and industry research.

The IACET accreditation offers the adult education student confidence in an organization's education or training program. As an IACET Accredited Provider, their training adheres to the ANSI/IACET Standard for Continuing Education and Training and their program's policies and processes have met all ten elements of the Standard. The IACET CEU assures employers, credentialing associations, licensing bodies and others that a learner has completed a quality training program which meets THE national standard for continuing education and training.


What are some of the organizations that recognize the IACET Accreditation?

  • Alaska, Department of Education & Early Development
  • CDA Council
  • Child Care Development Associate National Credentialing Program
  • Child Care Professional Development Institute of Utah
  • Council for Professional Recognition
  • DHR Child Care Licensing
  • Florida Dept. of Children and Families
  • Maryland, Department of Education
  • Michigan Association of Educating Young People
  • Michigan Education Association
  • Michigan, Department of Education
  • Nebraska State Teacher’s Association
  • New Hampshire, Department of Education
  • North Carolina Association of Teacher Assistants
  • North Carolina Institute for Child Development Professionals
  • Office of Educator Licensure
  • South Carolina, Department of Education
  • South Dakota, Department of Education


SafeGard Classes Online is an IACET Accredited Provider so you can be assured of the quality of our program and that all classes are able to offer continuing education units (CEUs).  Browse our class catalog of more than 200 online classes.