SafeGard Classes Online offers many high-quality online childcare training classes to meet the annual clock hour training requirement in Colorado.  See all approved classes by selecting Colorado as your state on our childcare classes page. As an IACET Accredited Provider, our classes also earn Continuing Education Units (CEUs).

Training requirements include specific courses and annual clock hours. View licensing training requirements.

To meet the annual clock hour training requirements, all licensed child care providers are required to have three clock hours of training focused on social emotional development and 12 clock hours of training focused on eight competencies:

  1. Child growth and development and learning or courses that aligns with the competency domains of child growth and development
  2. Child observation and assessment
  3. Family and community partnership
  4. Guidance
  5. Health, safety and nutrition
  6. Professional development and leadership
  7. Program planning and development
  8. Teaching practices


SafeGard Classes Online also offers the national Child Development Associate (CDA) Credential training curriculum in Colorado for both the initial CDA as well as the renewal.  As a Proud Partner of the CDA and the Council for Professional Recognition, you can be assured our classes will meet the CDA Council's requirements for continuing education.  We work closely with the Council to ensure you receive the support and resources to you need as you pursue your CDA Credentials.

As an IACET Accredited Provider, our classes also earn Continuing Education Units (CEUs).


Colorado Child Care Licensing

Office of Early Childhood Education - Licenses Child Care Training Requirements


The great seal of the State of Colorado